Manik Saha (left) and Tripura CM Biplab Deb (right)

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb stepped down as state BJP president on Wednesday, making way for Manik Saha.

Deb became the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president four years ago on January 6, 2016.

His tenure got over in January 2019, but it extended till August 31, or till the end of the Parliament election process.

“The process of electing party leaders was conducted properly from booth level,” said union Jal Shakti minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat while announcing the name of the new Tripura BJP president.

Shekhawat served as the observer for BJP’s organisational elections in Tripura. He informed that organisational elections in Tripura were held properly in booth, mandal and district levels.

“When I became Tripura BJP president, I had a small team and I was laughed at by many who said BJP will never gain anything in Tripura,” Deb said while addressing the party members.

“This small team, however, was powerful enough to dislodge the 25-year-old Manik Sarkar-led CPI (M) government in Tripura,” Deb added.

“I would request Saha to start preparing for the 2023 Assembly election and ensure victory on 100 per cent of the seats,” the CM further said.

Saha, who joined the BJP in 2016, is a dentist by profession. He appealed to the party workers to unite in further strengthening BJP in the state.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: