Representational image

Assam government has announced the names of twenty eminent journalists selected for the Assam Pension Scheme for Journalists for 2019.

These journalists include Deepak Das (Karimganj), Nathmal Tibrewala (Sonitpur), Ikbal Ahmed (Dibrugarh), Amulya Khataniar (Tinsukia), Uday Shankar Borgohain (Kamrup Metro), Ghanakanta Das (Biswanath Chariali),Satyanarayan Mishra(Kamrup Metro), Himen Bhattacharjee (Tinsukia),Padmeswar Chitrakar (Kamrup Metro), Kiron Kumar Mukherjee (Nagaon).

The rest of the journalists to be awarded the Assam Pension Scheme for this year include Paban Hazarika (Udalguri), Arun Kumar Das (Jorhat), Sanjay Barkataki (Kamrup Metro), Jiten Sharma (Tinsukia), Ranjeet Kumar Das (Udalguri), Balendra Kalita (Kamrup Metro), Horen Sarmah (Jorhat), Champak Barbara (Kamrup Metro), Imran Hussain (Kamrup Metro), Dipankar Roy (Kamrup Metro).

These twenty journalists will receive a monthly pension of Rs 8000.

Assam government has been providing this monthly pension from 2017 onwards.

The scheme is awarded to retired journalists who have served in Assam for at least 20 years.

This scheme is for the welfare of senior journalists on their retirement at the age of 60.

The applicant of the Assam Pension Scheme for Journalists is required to undergo superannuation as a journalist and the scheme is valid for lifetime.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.