The BJP and its ally the UPPL have registered an emphatic win in the Assam by-elections.

The BJP and its allies have won all the five seats that went to by-elections in Assam.

Gossaingaon By-elections:

Jiron Basumatary, the UPPL candidate from Gossaingaon seat, has won the by-elections.

Basumatary, defeated his closest rival – Congress’ Jowel Tudu by a margin of 28,252 votes.

BTC chief Pramod Boro-led UPPL is BJP’s ally in the state of Assam.

Thowra by-elections:

BJP’s Sushanta Borgohain has won the Thowra assembly seat. 

Sushanta Borgohain won the by-elections by a margin of 30,561 votes.

He defeated his closest rival independent candidate Dhaijya Konwar, who was fielded by Raijor Dal.

Also read: Mizoram bye-election 2021: MNF candidate Laldawngliana wins Tuirial seat

Bhawanipur by-elections:

BJP’s Phanidhar Talukdar won from Bhabanipur in Assam.

Phanidhar Talukdar won the Bhabanipur seat by a margin of 25641 votes.

He defeated Congress’ Sailendra Nath Das.

Mariani by-elections:

BJP’s Rupjyoti Kurmi won from Mariani in Assam.

Tamulpur by-elections:

UPPL’s Jolen Daimary win Tamulpur constituency in Assam.

Also read: Assam’s integrated draft electoral rolls published

Counting of votes began at around 8 in the morning on Tuesday.

By-polls were held in five Assembly constituencies in Assam – Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thowra.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: