West Tripura MP Pratima Bhoumik

West Tripura MP Pratima Bhoumik on Wednesday took oath as Union minister of state in Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led ministry.

The 52-year-old MP won the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 from the West Tripura constituency with a margin of 3,05,689 votes, while she received 5,73 ,532 votes.

Bhoumik is a resident of Dhanpur at the Sonamura sub-division in the Sepahijala district.

Hailing from a humble background, the politician did her schooling from Sonamura and graduation in bio-science from the Women’s College there.

The Lok Sabha member is also a member of the consultative committee of the ministry of railways and Hindi Salahkar Samiti of the ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER).

Also read: DoNER to identify 10 districts in Northeast which are lagging behind in governance, developmental parameters

Earlier, Santosh Mohan Deb from Assam and Triguna Sen from West Bengal, served as Union ministers representing Tripura.

But Bhoumik created history by becoming the first Union minister from Tripura, who is a resident of the state.

Two other BJP leaders have also been inducted into the Modi ministry.

Former Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal took oath as a Cabinet minister while Manipur MP Rajkumar Ranjan Singh has also been inducted into the Union ministry.

Meanwhile, Arunachal Pradesh MP and Union minister of state for sports and youth affairs Kiren Rijiju took oath as a Cabinet minister.

A total of 12 union ministers including Harsh Vardhan, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Sanjay Dhotre and Babul Supriyo have tendered their resignations from the Union Cabinet.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: