Handout image

Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh received the Krishi Karman Award 2017-18 from Prime Minister Narendra Modi at a function held at Government Pre-University at Tumakuru in Karnataka on Thursday.

Manipur was selected for the prestigious award as the best-performing State in Overall Food-grain Production Category-III (production less than 1 million tone) for the year 2017-18.

The award carried a trophy, a citation and an amount of Rs five crore.

Two farmers of the state -Yenkhom Bishworjit Singh and Thingbaijam Johnny Chanu – also received the Krishi Karman Award for Progressive Farmers for highest production in rice and pulses during 2017-18, respectively.

Moreover, Tripura was also honoured with the Krishi Karman Award as it was also selected as the best performing state in Overall Food-grain Production Category-III.

Tripura’s Krishi Karman award was received by state agriculture minister Pranajit Singha Roy from Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Karnataka on Thursday.

Roy tweeted:

Really feeling blessed to receive the Krishi karman Award from our Hon’ble PM Sri Narendra Modi on behalf of Tripura being awarded 1st among the smallest states in the country as the fastest growing state in agriculture.”

Two farmers of Tripura- Jharna Das and Ashok Bikas Dutta- were also honoured with Krishi Karman Award for Progressive Farmers.

The Krishi Karman Awards were introduced from 2011 in order to recognize the meritorious efforts of the States in food grain production.

There are three categories of awards for total foodgrain production.

Category 1 is for the States where total foodgrain production exceeds 10 million tons.

Category 2 is for the States where total food grain production is less than 10 million tons but more than 1 million tons.

Category 3 is for the States with total food grains production less than 1 million tons.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in