Ending all speculations, Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma has dropped two ministers, one from his National People’s Party (NPP) and another from the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP).

The two ministers Samlin Malngiang of the HSPDP and Comingone Ymbon of the NPP were dropped nearly a month after the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government completed two-and-half years in office on September 6.

The decision of the chief minister was to facilitate rotation of the ministerial posts among different partners of the MDA government.

Sources said in place of Ymbon, first-time NPP MLA from Mawhati, Dasakhiat Lamare will be sworn in as minister, while HSPDP legislator from Mawkyrwat, Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar will take oath as minister in place of Samlin Malngiang.

The two MLAs will take oath as ministers at the Raj Bhavan on Thursday evening, sources confirmed.

Earlier, there were speculations that the ministers, who have to relinquish their posts, would be allowed to hold on for few more months.

However, the decision to drop the two ministers came as a surprise.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in