Manipour women's football team
Winners Manipur team with the trophy of 25th Senior Women’s National Football Championship 2019 at Pasighat. Image credit - Northeast Now

The Manipur women football team brought laurels to their state and the Northeast by winning the 25th Senior Women’s National Football Championship 2019 at Pasighat on Tuesday.

The Manipur team emerged champion by defeating Indian Railways 1-0 in the final match played at Pasighat College of Horticulture & Forestry playground.

The first half of the final match ended without any goal. However, Manipur captain N Bala Devi was able to net one goal early in the second half.

Opponent Indian Railways despite having many opportunities could not return the goal till the end of the game and lost to Manipur.

Also read: Tamil Nadu, Railways women enter final four of national football championships

Manipur captain Bala Devi, who kicked altogether 21 goals in the championship, became the highest scorer in the event.

Another player of the champion team, Elangbam Panthi Chanu was declared the best goal keeper while Sanju of Indian Railways was given the honour of best player.

Also read: Senior women’s football: Assam defeat Andhra 9-0, Mizoram lose to Rlys 0-4

Manipur entered the final by defeating Tamil Nadu while Indian Railway entered the final by defeating Odisha in the semifinals played on September 22.

East Arunachal Lok Sabha MP Tapir Gao accompanied by Arunachal Pradesh sports minister Mama Natung and Pasighat-East MLA Kaling Moyong witnessed the final match.

They also gave away the prizes to the champion and runners-up teams besides the best achievers in the championship.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.