Assam Assembly elections
Incumbent Bhawanipur MLA Abdul Kalam Azad

Abdul Kalam Azad, the incumbent MLA of the Bhawanipur constituency under Bajali district on Tuesday declared his resignation from the AIUDF after the party denied him a ticket this time.

He will be contesting the Assam Assembly elections from the constituency as an independent candidate.

He expressed his confidence that the people will support him despite his resigning from the party.

AIUDF candidate Phani Talukdar will be contesting the elections from the Bhawanipur constituency this time.

Also read: Sidelined by AIUDF for making ‘anti-Assamese’ remarks, Sheikh Shah Alam now AGP’s Goalpara West candidate

In a meeting held at Sukmanah Bazaar in Bhawanipur some of his followers even shouted slogans against the AIUDF leadership for denying him a ticket.

“I have resigned from the AIDUF as I was denied a ticket and instead Phani Talukdar received it. The people of the area want me to contest from the constituency as they do not support any other candidate,” Abdul Kalam Azad said.

Azad also slammed the party leader Badaruddin Ajmal and the new ticket holder Phani Talukdar.

Sasanka Talukdar

Sasanka Talukdar is Northeast Now Correspondent in Pathsala. He can be reached at: