The National People’s Party (NPP) will contest in the Assam Assembly elections from five (5) constituencies.

The NPP has also announced its candidates for the five seats that it will contest from.

The NPP will contest the Assam Assembly elections from the seats of: Chabua, Badarpur, Jorhat, Baithalangso and Naoboicha.

The names of the candidates were announced by Meghalaya Power Minister and NPP’s National General Secretary James Sangma.

James Sangma is also the in-charge of Finance of the NPP’s Assam Unit.

Bhaben BaruaChabua
Abu Sahid Md Zakir HussainBadarpur
Arbin Kumar BaruaJorhat
Velcome TeronBaithalangso
Biri JoyNaoboicha

The NPP is the ruling party in Meghalaya and an ally of the BJP.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: