The Election Committee of National People’s Party (NPP) has released the party’s second and final list of candidates for the upcoming Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) elections. 

The NPP has announced names of 13 candidates for the GHADC elections in the final list on Tuesday. 

The final list of NPP candidates for the GHADC elections was released by Chairman of NPP’s Election Committee – Thomas A Sangma. 

Wagesik Bartholomeo D Shira 
Barengapara Nasser R Marak 
Babelapara Rakesh A Sangma 
Amongpara Panseng R Marak 
Boldamgre Thebalson Arengh 
Betasing Premish Sangma 
Rochonpara Dipul R Marak 
Asanang Anseng A Sangma 
Balachanda Enamul Haque 
Batabari Roynath D Sangma 
Shyamnagar Tarif Ibrahim Sarkar 
Bolsong Crozier G Momin 
Kharkutta Edbirth D Shira 

Also read: Assam: Transfer of forest officials put on hold

Elections to the 30-member GHADC will be held on April 9. 

Counting of votes will be held on April 14. 

The polling will begin at 7 am and end at 4 pm. 

The five-year term of the GHADC expired on October 18, 2020. 

But fresh elections could not be conducted due to the COVID-19 situation and the GHADC came under the Governor’s rule for six months which will end on April 18. 

Also read: BJP trying to suppress ‘Joi Aai Axom’, says Priyanka Gandhi in Assam

Earlier, opposition Congress in Meghalaya had announced candidates for 29 of the constituencies in two lists. 

Notably, the GHADC has 30 members, 29 of them elected in the battle of ballot from 29 constituencies and one member nominated by the Governor. 

Also read: No CAA, 5 lakh jobs, 200 units of free electricity: Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi announces 5 guarantees for Assam


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: