Jorhat district in Assam, which comprises five assembly segments has witnessed no upsets. 

The BJP, in its victory run in Assam, has failed to wrest the Assembly seats of Mariani and Titabor. 

Both Mariani and Titabor seats have been retained by the Congress for the fourth and fifth consecutive times respectively. 

Interestingly, both the constituencies fall within upper Assam’s tea belt, which was said to be sewn up by the BJP with its sops of creating educational institutes, scholarships, reservations, and cash in bank accounts of workers.  

Titabar and Mariani, both with sizable tea workers population, went against the tide to vote for the Congress.  

Also read: Assam Assembly election results UPDATE: BJP+ wins 2 out of 3 constituencies in Udalguri

Voters in both the constituencies voted the Congress candidates to the State Assembly for the fourth and fifth consecutive times respectively. 

In Mariani, both the Congress as well as the BJP candidate belonged to the tea tribe community. 

Rupjyoti Kurmi, Congress’s veteran politician, who defeated BJP Ramani Tanti. 

Kurmi had challenged BJP heavyweight Himanta Biswa Sarma to conduct rally in Mariani and show how many tea workers he could gather in the rally, during the campaigning period. 

Rupjyoti Kurmi had also  said that all the Bollywood stars could descend there, but no tea worker would vote against for him, as it was he, who stood by them through thick and thin.  

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Results Update: Sonowal, Himanta, Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi, Ranjeet Dass among big winners

In Titabar, Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah, a greenhorn in politics but an astute self-made businessman, with nine tea gardens in his kitty, played his cards right to take over from where three-time chief minister Tarun Gogoi had left. 

The seat was left vacant after Tarun Gogoi, elected in 2016 for the fourth term, passed away on November 23, 2020. 

Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah, a shadow of Tarun Gogoi for all the three terms from 2001 to 2011 when Tarun Gogoi was the chief minister and in the opposition from 2016, had vowed to finish all the work that Gogoi had left incomplete. 

This play well on the sentiment of the people in the constituency and his skill as a successful entrepreneur seems to have worked in his favour.  

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Results Update: State Congress president Ripun Bora, AJP chief Lurinjyoti Gogoi among big losers

The prestigious Jorhat seat was retained by the incumbent BJP MLA Hitendra Nath Goswami for the second term, winning against Congress’s Rana Goswami. 

On the other hand, Dergaon and Teok remained in the hands of AGP’s Bhabendranath Bharali and Renupoma Rajkhowa respectively. 

Smita Bhattacharyya

Smita Bhattacharyya is Northeast Now Correspondent in Jorhat. She can be reached at: