Assam Congress president and Rajya Sabha Member Ripun Bora is one of the heavyweight candidates who have lost the poll battle in the Assam Assembly elections 2021, results of which are being declared on Sunday.

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) president and former All Assam Students’ Union general secretary Lurinjyoti Gogoi has the election to BJP candidate Taranga Gogoi in Naharkatia seat.

Bodoland People’s Party (BPF) leaders and outgoing ministers Pramila Rani Brahma and Chandan Brahma are also among the heavyweight candidates who have lost the election.

While Pramila Rani Brahma lost the Kokrajhar East seat to Lawrence Islary of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), Chandan Brahma lost to UPPL’s Joyanta Basumatary in Sidli constituency.

Pabindra Deka, who resigned from Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) to join Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), has lost the poll battle in Patacharkuchi constituency where Assam BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass emerged as the winner.

All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary and former MLA Bhupen Borah lost the Assembly election in Bihpuria to BJP candidate Amiya Kumar Bhuyan.

Former Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) minister and outgoing MLA Utpal Dutta has been defeated by BJP candidate Manab Deka in Lakhimpur Assembly constituency.

AJP convenor and former AGP minister Jagadish Bhuyan failed to garner votes and is all set to be defeated in the Sadiya Assembly seat.

06: 02 PM: BJP candidate Bhuban Pegu has won Jonai seat.

06:20 PM: AGP’s Pradip Hazarika has won the Amguri seat by defeating Congress candidate Angkita Dutta while BPF candidate Charan Boro has won the Majbat seat.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: