The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally – the UPPL have managed to win 2 out of 3 constituencies in Assam’s Udalguri district. 

BJP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary secured a massive victory from Paneri Assembly constituency in Assam’s Udalguri district. 

Biswajit Daimary won the Paneri seat by securing a margin of over 35,000 votes. 

Daimary defeated his closest rival Karuna Kanta Swargiary of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF). 

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Results Update: Sonowal, Himanta, Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi, Ranjeet Dass among big winners

Meanwhile, UPPL candidate and Deputy CEM of the BTC – Govindo Basumatary secured a handsome win in Udalguri Assembly seat. 

Govindo Basumatary defeated BPF strongman and former Cabinet Minister – Rihon Daimary. 

Rihon Daimary had been representing the Udalguri constituency continuously for four straight terms and held important cabinet portfolios in three of those terms. 

On the other hand, BPF candidate and sitting MLA Charan Boro managed to retained the Majbat Assembly seat. 

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Results Update: State Congress president Ripun Bora, AJP chief Lurinjyoti Gogoi among big losers

He defeated his closest rival and BJP candidate – Jitu Kishan, who is known to be a close aide of BJP topgun in Northeast – Himanta Biswa Sarma. 

Meanwhile, the BJP is all set to form the next Government in Assam winning over 75 seats. 

Shajid Khan

Shajid Khan is Northeast Now Correspondent in Udalguri. He can be reached at: