Representative image

The Congress on Tuesday announced the names of three candidates to fight in the Assam Assembly by-polls.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) recently announced by-polls to a total of 5 Assembly seats remaining vacant in Assam.

Also read: 2 Assam police officials ‘closed’ for paving way for model Rajkanya Baruah to get bail

The names of the candidates have been cleared by All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Sonia Gandhi.

“The Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved the proposals for the candidature of the following persons to contest the ensuing Assembly bye-elections as Congress candidates from the states mentioned below,” said a press release, issued by Mukul Wasnik, AICC general secretary and in-charge, CEC.

According to the press release, Jowel Tudu has been selected as the candidate to fight from 28-Gossaigaon seat while the party has fielded Bhaskar Dahal to contest from 58-Tamulpur seat.

Also read: Assam Assembly by-polls: BJP fields 3 former MLAs who shifted party in 3 seats

The name of Manoranjan Konwar has been approved by the AICC president to fight for the 107-Thowra seat.

Besides Gossaigaon, Tamulpur and Thowra, Assembly by-polls will also be held in Mariani and Bhabanipur constituencies in Assam on October 30, 2021.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced the names of party candidates for 3 Assam Assembly seats including Mariani, Bhabanipur and Thowra.

Phanidhar Talukdar, former AIUDF MLA, has been given BJP ticket for the Bhabanipur seat while party tickets have been awarded to former Congress MLAs Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain to contest for Mariani and Thowra seats, respectively.

For the Thowra Assembly seat, Sivasagar MLA Akhil Gogoi-led Raijor Dal has fielded Dhaijya Konwar.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: