(From left) Sushanta Borgohain, Phanidhar Talukdar and Rupjyoti Kurmi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced the names of its candidates for three Assam Assembly seats which are going to by-polls on October 30, 2021.

The central election committee of the BJP has finalised the names of the three candidates for the three Assembly seats out of 5 seats where the by-polls will be held.

The BJP has awarded party tickets to 3 former MLAs, who shifted their alliance to the saffron party recently.

While two of these former MLAs won the last Assembly elections on Congress tickets, one won the Assembly election 2021 on the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) ticket.

Also read : Mizoram Assembly by-polls: K Laldinthara is BJP candidate for Tuirial seat

Phanidhar Talukdar, former AIUDF MLA, has been given BJP ticket for the Bhabanipur Assembly seat while party tickets have been awarded to former Congress MLAs Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain to contest for Mariani and Thowra seats, respectively.

The by-poll to Mairani, Thowra and Bhabanipur seats was necessitated after Rupjyoti Kurmi, Sushanta Borgohain and Phanidhar Talukdar, who represented these constituencies respectively, resigned as MLAs to join the BJP.

The BJP is likely to leave the two seats – Tamulpur and Gossaigain – to its ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) led by BTC chief Pramod Boro.

For the Thowra seat, Raijor Dal has fielded Dhaijya Konwar.

In the Thowra seat, which was earlier represented by Sushanta Borgohain, either Manoranjan Gogoi or Ajay Gogoi is likely to get the Congress ticket.

Also read : Assam: Over 30 BJP, Congress workers join TMC in Silchar

For the Mariani seat, Raijor Dal has fielded Sanjib Gogoi.

The last date of filing nomination papers is October 8, 2021 and October 16, 2021 is the last date for the withdrawal of nomination.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: