The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced K. Laldinthara as its candidate for 4-Tuirial (ST) Assembly seat in Mizoram.

Apart from the Tuirial Assembly seat, the BJP also announced the names of its candidates for 90-Deglur (SC) in Maharashtra and 31-Huzurabad seat in Telangana.

A statement, issued by BJP’s national general secretary Arun Singh, said: “The Bharatiya Janata Party Central Election Committee has decided the following names for the Bye-Elections to the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra, Mizoram & Telangana.”

Also read: Mizoram government issues new Covid19 guidelines with more relaxations

The party has fielded Subhash Pirajirao Savane for Deglur (SC) Assembly seat in Maharashtra and Etela Rajender for the Huzurabad Assembly seat in Telangana.

Earlier, Mizoram‘s main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) has decided to field well-known contractor and newly-enrolled member Laltlanmawia for the upcoming by-poll to Tuirial Assembly seat.


The by-poll to Tuirial Assembly constituency along with other constituencies in the country, which are remaining vacant, is slated for October 30.

Also read: Election Commission announces dates: Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland to go to Assembly by-polls on Oct 30

ZPM president Lalliansawta said the party’s high-level meeting unanimously approved Laltlanmawia as the party nominee for the upcoming by-poll as per the collective suggestion of the party east and west blocks from Tuirial constituency.

Lalliansawta said Laltlanmawia from Kolasib town has been actively involved in social work and church ministry.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) announced party leader K. Laldawngliana, head of a state-run public sector undertaking, as its party candidate for the Tuirial by-polls.

The Congress has nominated former legislator Chalrosanga Ralte, who is the brother of party treasurer and Congress Legislature Party leader Zodintluanga Ralte, as the party candidate for the Tuirial by-polls.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: