The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced the dates of the Assembly by-polls to 30 seats including 10 Assembly seats in the Northeast and by-polls to 3 Lok Sabha seats.

According to the Election Commission, the Assembly & Lok Sabha by-polls will be held on October 30, 2021.

The dates of the by-polls have been announced to fill the vacancies in 30 Assembly constituencies and 3 parliamentary constituencies of UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Madhya Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh.

Also read: NEET Exam pattern change: Don’t treat young doctors as ‘football’ Supreme Court tells Centre

The Commission said it has reviewed the situations related to pandemic, flood, festivals, cold conditions in certain regions, feedback from concerned states/UT and taken into consideration all facts and circumstances and it has decided to hold by-polls to fill vacancies in 3 parliamentary constituencies and 30 vacancies in Assembly constituencies.

In the Northeast, the by-polls will be held in Assam, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Nagaland.

In Assam, the Assembly by-polls will be held in 5 constituencies including 28-Gossaigaon, 41-Bhabanipur, 58-Tamulpur,  101-Mariani, and 107-Thowra.

In Meghalaya, the Assembly by-polls will be held in three constiteuncies including 13-Mawryngkneng (ST), 24-Mawphlang (ST) and 47-Rajabala.

In Mizoram, the Assembly by-polls will be held in 1 constituency -4-Tuirial (ST).

The Assembly poll-polls will also be held in 58-Shamtorr-Chessore (ST) constituency in Nagaland.

The Gazette notification will be issued on October 1, 2021.

Also read : Assam Secretariat employee commits suicide in Guwahati, blames senior officials in note

The last date of nominations is October 8, 2021 and the date for scrutiny of nominations is October 11, 2021.

The Commission has foxed October 13 as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The polling will be held on October 30, 2021 (Saturday).

The counting of votes will be held on November 2, 2021 (Tuesday).

The other states, where the by-polls will be held include Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Telangana and West Bengal.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: