Assam AJYCP Swahid Divas
Tributes being paid to martyrs of Assam Movement. Image credit - Northeast Now

December 10 is a significant day in the history of Assam as it marks the day when the people of the state pay rich tributes and homage to the brave and courageous souls, who sacrificed their lives during the Assam Movement.

The Swahid Diwas is observed on the birthday of the first martyr of the Assam Movement, Khargeswar Talukdar, who was killed in 1979 in a clash with police personnel in the Bhawanipur Chowk under Bajali district.

From 1979-1985, a total of 855 people gave up their lives to protect the identity of the people of Assam.

On Friday, along with the rest of the state, the Bajali district and the central committee of the Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) observed Swahid Divas at Pathsala in Assam’s Bajali district.

Also read: 2021 SABERA Award for Assam’s environmentalist Dr Pranab Jyoti Patar

The leaders of the Bajali district committee of AJYCP and its central committee leaders paid rich tributes to the martyrs by lighting earthen lamps in Azad Bawan of Pathsala on Friday.

In the meeting, several distinguished leaders were present.

Also read: Manipur’s Bindyarani Devi wins gold at 2021 IWF World Weightlifting Championship

The prominent leaders who were present at the event included AJYCP president Ranapratap Baruah, general secretary Palash Changmai, vice-president Bhabesh Kalita, joint secretary Mridul Talukdar, assistant general secretary Bijan Bayan and others.

Sasanka Talukdar

Sasanka Talukdar is Northeast Now Correspondent in Pathsala. He can be reached at: