As many as nine police personnel from the Northeast are to be awarded with ‘Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation 2021?.

A total of 152 police officials across the country are to be awarded with the ‘Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation 2021?.

The awardees include 28 women police officials from across the country. 

Of the total 152 policemen, four are from Assam and one each are from Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya Nagaland and Tripura.

Also read: Drug dealer kidnaps girl child, Assam Police rescues her from jungles in Arunachal Pradesh

The four Assam Police officials who are to receive the award are: SSP Bibekanand Das, DSP Dr Rashmi Rekha Sarmah, Inspector Sukumar Sinha and Si Dipankar Gogoi. 

The remaining five police officials from the Northeast are: W/SI – M Priyadarshini Devi (Manipur), DSP Banraplang Jyrwa (Meghalaya), SI VL Chama Ralte (Mizoram), UBSI – Temsuyangba Ao (Nagaland) and WSI Rita Debnath (Tripura). 

This medal was constituted in 2018 with the objective to promote high professional standards of investigation of crime and to recognise such Excellence in Investigation by investigating officers. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: