Representative image. Photo credit - The Hindu

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora has constituted a committee to study the problems of tea labourers working in different tea gardens of Assam.

The committee, which has been formed with former Assam Minister Prithvi Majhi as its chairman, has former Union Minister and president of Assam Chah Mazdoor Sangha, Paban Singh Ghatowar, as its advisor.

According to an APCC order, the committee will also go into details of the ex-tea tribe community who are living in different parts of Assam.

The Committee will study the problems of the tea labourers and tribe community and recommend measurers to be taken out in respect of their socio-cultural development.

The order from the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president, who is also a Rajya Sabha MP from Assam, further stated that the committee will also study the socio-economic development, creation of employment opportunities for the unemployment youths, and expansion of quality and job oriented education in a broad manner in the tea tribe areas.

Besides, the committee will also study better health and sanitation facilities, overall economic and infrastructural development of the tea community in Assam.

APCC order
A copy of the order regarding formation of the committee formed by APCC. Image – Northeast Now
A copy of the order regarding formation of the committee formed by APCC. Image – Northeast Now

“The committee will submit its report and recommendations by 20th January, 2019, so that the recommendations can be included in the election manifesto for Lok Sabha Election, 2019. This has come into force with immediate effect,” stated the order issued by Sailen Bora, general secretary (admin), APCC, on Sunday.

The other members of the committee include Santiuse Kujur, MP; Ajit Singh, former Minister; Dr. Bhagirath Karan, vice-president, APCC; Bhimananda Tanti, president, Sonitpur District Congress Committee (DCC); Durga Bhumij, MLA; Rajdeep Goala, MLA; Roseline Tirkey, MLA; Atuwa Munda, president, Dibrugarh DCC and Jibantara Ghatowar, Ex-MLA.

The other members of the committee are Monilal Goala, Ex-MLA; Raju Sahu, Ex-MLA; Rajendra Prasad Singh, Ex-MLA; Mina Teli, general secretary, APCC; Rupesh Goalas, secretary, ACMS; Christodom Tudu, secretary, APCC; Dinonath Baroi; Limiz Linda; Rupa Praja; Durgamoti Sonar.

On the other hand, the committee also has Rupjyoti Kurmi, Mariyani MLA and chairman of Tea & Ex-Tea Mazdoor Department, APCC, as the convenor.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.