The Tripura State Election Commission has announced that the elections to the 30-member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) will be held on April 4. 

Counting of votes will take place on April 8. 

State Election Commissioner Manik Lal Dey informed that the last date for submission of nominations is March 12, while the documents will be scrutinised on March 15 and the last date for withdrawal of the nominations is March 17. 

The term of the TTAADC expired on May 17 last year, but the election was deferred due to COVID-19 pandemic. 

Also read: Tripura: BJP ally IPFT forges alliance with TIPRA for council elections

The Model Code of Conduct has come into force in the TTAADC region with the announcement of the elections. 

A total of 8,65,041 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise. 

There are a total of 4,36,548 males voters and 4,28,490 are female voters. 

Three voters are from the transgender community. 

Voting will take place in 1,244 polling stations. 

Also read: Resentment over seat sharing between BJP and AGP continues, crucial meet in New Delhi today 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: