Royal scion Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma, the leader of TIPRA, will be the next chief executive member (CEM) of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

TIPRA (Tiprasa Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance) and its ally Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) came out victorious in the election to TTAADC under the leadership of Pradyot.

In the election to the TTAADC, results of which were declared on Saturday, TIPRA won 16 seats out of 23 it had contested while its ally INPT won 2 seats.

The election was held for 28 seats of TTAADC.

Also read: Royal scion Pradyot-led TIPRA Motha wins Tripura ADC election 2021, BJP-led alliance bites dust

In a meeting of the 18 winning candidates of TIPRA and INPT at Ujjyanta Palace, Pradyot was declared as the next CEM of the Tripura ADC.

Later in the evening, Pradyot along with the elected members met Tripura Governor Ramesh Bais at the Raj Bhawan and staked claim of forming the new council.

Speaking to reporters on Sunday, Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma said they will work in the ADC with honesty.

Besides, he said, there will be no victory programme celebrating the victory of TIPRA Motha.

The swearing-in ceremony will also be held in a normal manner, Pradyot said.

Pradyot again appealed to stop political violence in the state.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: