The counting of votes for the Tripura Tribal Ares Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) polls has begun from Saturday morning in Tripura.

According to sources, TIPRA Motha was leading in the first round with maximum votes.

In 16 sub-divisions there are 16 counting centers and 28 counting halls, where counting is underway.

The TTAADC elections were held on April 6.

According to the state election commission, more than 80 per cent of the votes were cast in 25 of the 28 ADC constituencies.

Also read: Tripura records 85.74 % voter turnout in TTAADC polls

More than 90 per cent of the votes were cast in the two constituencies. Less than 70 percent of the votes were cast in a single constituency.

The highest voter turnout was in the Shilachhari-Manubankul constituency in South Tripura at 90.32 percent, followed by South Tripura’s Muhuripur-Bhuratali constituency at 90.27 per cent.

The lowest turnout was in Damchhara Jampui constituency in North Tripura at 76.64 percent.

A total of 8, 65,041 voters cast their votes in the TTAADC polls

CPI(M), TIPRA Motha, and Congress have alleged that the ruling BJP and IPFT engaged in rigging, booth capturing and booth jam during the elections.

While CPI(M) has demanded a re-poll in 65 booths, IPFT demanded re-poll in 23 booths and TIPRA Motha demanded re-poll in 60-70 booths.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: