Tokheho Yepthomi
Tokheho Yepthomi. Image - Northeast Now

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) Tokheho Yepthomi retained the lone Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland defeating his nearest rival from Congress K.L. Chishi by a margin of 16,344 votes.

Yepthomi was the consensus candidate of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance.

This was announced by Nagaland CEO Abhijit Sinha.

Yepthomi won the seat by a margin of over 16000 votes.

While Yepthomi polled 5,00,510 votes Chishi got 4,84,166 votes.

Even though the Congress drew a blank in the last Assembly election in 2018, the party put up a spirited fight in the general election with the support of opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF).

Citizenship (Amendment) Bill and support of the NPF helped the Congress candidate in giving a tough fight to the ruling NDPP candidate.

The four-cornered contest on April 11 had Hayithung Tungoe from National People’s Party (NPP) and Independent candidate M.M. Thromwa Konyak as the other candidates.

Tungoe garnered 14,997 votes while Konyak managed 4,620 votes.

There were 4620 None of the Above (NOTA) votes till 7:3 pm.

Also read: Nagaland: NDPP’s Sharingain wins Aonglenden Assembly bypoll

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio won the seat on NPF ticket.

In the bypoll to Aonglenden Assembly constituency, Sharingain Longkumer of the NDPP won the bypoll to Aonglenden Assembly constituency in Nagaland by a margin of 6,245 votes against Congress’s Alem Jongshi Longkumer.

Sharingain polled 8,607 votes while Alem Jongshi managed 2,362 votes. The voting percentage obtained by NDPP candidate was 78.3% while it was 21.5% for the INC candidate.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of sitting NDPP MLA Imtikumzuk on September 22, 2018.

“Congratulations to Sharingain Longkumer, consensus candidate of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party @NDPPofficial on winning the 26 Aonglenden A/C byelection. Thank you voters of Aonglenden for reposing your faith on the PDA Govt.,” chief minister Rio tweeted after the results for the bypoll declared.

“Congratulations to Sharingain Longkumer! The NDPP candidate carrying the PDA banner high in Nagaland!” BJP legislator Mmhonlumo Kikon tweeted.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.