Sharingain Longkumer
Sharingain Longkumer

In the bypoll to Aonglenden Assembly constituency in Nagaland, Sharingain Longkumer of the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) retained the seat for the party on Thursday.

Sharingain Longkumer won the seat by a margin of 6,245 votes against Congress’ Alem Jongshi Longkumer.

Sharingain polled 8,607 votes while Alem Jonshi got 2,362 votes.

“Congratulations to Sharingain Longkumer, consensus candidate of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party @NDPPofficial on winning the 26 Aonglenden A/C byelection. Thank you voters of Aonglenden for reposing your faith on the PDA Govt,” Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio tweeted after the announcement of the results for the bypoll.

On the other hand, Tokheho Yepthomi of ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) was leading by 3,869 votes against INC’s K.L. Chishi in Nagaland, according to the ECI update at 6.56 pm on Thursday.

Elections for the bypoll and the lone Lok Sabha seat in the state were held on April 11.

As per ECI update at 7 pm, Yepthomi polled 4,86,129 votes with 49.11 per cent voting percentage while Chishi polled 4,82,260 votes with polling percentage of 48.72 per cent.

The Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) and support by opposition Naga People’s Front’s came as a major booster for the Congress candidate but as per the trend, it will not be easy for any candidate to win the seat.

The four-cornered contest on April 11 had Hayithung Tungoe from National People’s Party (NPP) and M.M Thromwa Konyak from Independent as the other candidates.

Tungoe garnered 14,961 votes while Konyak managed 4,513 votes at 7 pm, the ECI update said.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.