Newly-elected Nagaland MLAs, Medo Yhokha and T Yangseo Sangtam took oath as members of the State Legislative Assembly on Wednesday.

While Medo Yhokha represents the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), T Yangseo Sangtam is an Independent legislator.

Also read: Nagaland bypolls: Independent candidate, NDPP win two seats

Nagaland Assembly Speaker Sharingain Longkumer administered the oath of office to the newly-elected MLAs in his office chamber at the Legislative Assembly building in Kohima.

Yhokha was elected from 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly constituency and Sangtam won the 60 Pungro Assembly seat in the Nagaland bypolls held on November 3.

The results of the Nagaland bypolls were declared on November 10.

Nagaland agriculture and cooperation minister Kaito Aye, land revenue & parliamentary affairs minister Neiba Kronu, adviser to urban development and municipal affairs Dr Neikiesalie Nicky Kire and some other NDPP leaders were present during the oath-taking ceremony.

Sangtam’ wife Dr Thritingla Sangtam and some of his supporters from his constituency were also present on the occasion.

Both the newly-elected MLAs signed the roll of the members of the Assembly in the presence of Nagaland Legislative Assembly commissioner and secretary Dr PJ Antony.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at: