NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha won the bypolls to 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly constituency in Kohima district while Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam won the 60 Pungro-Kiphire seat in Kiphire district.

NDPP candidate Yhokha was supported by the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA).

The results of the Nagaland bypolls, held on November 3, were declared on Tuesday.

According to an update from the election office after the fifth and final round of counting in Southern Angami seat, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Yhokha defeated his nearest rival, Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo by 615 votes.

Yhokha polled 4,721 votes while the latter Zashumo got 4,106 votes.

In the three-cornered contest in the seat, Opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate Kikovi Kirha came third with 2,565 votes.

Eighty-eight voters opted for NOTA (None of the Above) among the 13,541 voters in the constituency.

In a blow to PDA alliance partner BJP in the Pungro Kiphire constituency, Sangtam emerged the winner by defeating his nearest rival, Independent candidate S Kiusumew Yimchunger by 1,527 votes.

Sangtam polled 8,747 votes while Yimchunger garnered 7,220 votes.

PDA’s consensus candidate, BJP’s Lirimong Sangtam stood third by polling 5,664 votes.

Five candidates were in the fray for the bypoll to Pungro-Kiphire seat.

Another Independent candidate, Shellumthong Yimchunger polled 5,388 votes while Congress’ Khaseo Anar got 347 votes.

Altogether 92 voters opted for NOTA among the 29,346 voters in the constituency.

Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio congratulated Yhokha on winning the Southern Angami seat.

“Heartiest congratulations to NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha on winning 14 Southern Angami 1 by-election. I wish you all the best in serving the people of Nagaland,” Rio tweeted after the results were declared.

The bypolls were necessitated after the deaths of Southern Angami-I constituency legislator of NDPP Vikho-o Yhoshü and Pungro-Kiphire constituency MLA of NPF T. Torechu last year.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at: bhadragogoi@yahoo.com