Abhijit Sinha
Nagaland chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha. Image credit - Northeast Now

Repoll in two polling stations under 60 Pungro-Kiphire (ST) Assembly constituency in Kiphire district will be conducted on Saturday, said Nagaland chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha.

Polling in the two polling stations – 11 Kipongya Ward ‘A’ Kiphire town and 11 Singrep – will be held from 6 am to 4 pm, he said.

Sinha said the Election Commission of India on the basis of reports submitted and after taking all material circumstances into account ordered repoll in the two polling stations in the constituency.

Bypolls in 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly constituency along with 14 Southern Angami-I seat in the state were held on November 3.

Also read: Nagaland Assembly bypolls record over 83% polling 

The bypolls were necessitated after the deaths of Southern Angami-I constituency legislator from the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and former Nagaland Assembly Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshü on December 30 and Pungro-Kiphire constituency MLA from Opposition Naga People’s Front T. Torechu on December 16 last year.

The bypolls in both the constituencies recorded over 88% polling on November 3.

The counting of votes will be conducted on November 10.

Kohima deputy commissioner and district election officer Mohammed Ali Shihab A on Friday said the counting of votes for the Southern Angami-I seat will be held in his conference hall from 8 am.

He said the counting agents will be appointed in Form 18, one for each counting table and one for the returning officer’s table.

He said 100 metre periphery around the counting centre will be demarcated as “pedestrian zone” and no vehicles will be allowed there.

The DEO also said no cellular phones, camera (still or video), except official recording by an appointed person, will be allowed inside the counting hall.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at: bhadragogoi@yahoo.com