fireworks Dimapur Diwali
Representative image.

Dimapur deputy commissioner Rajesh Soundarajan has banned the bursting of fireworks in silence zones.

The silence zones include those areas which are within the 100-meter radius of hospitals, nursing homes, district and primary health care centres, educational institutions, courts and religious places.

In an order on Wednesday, Soundarajan said only crackers with reduced emissions (improved crackers) and green crackers will be permitted to be sold through licensed traders and used.

The manufacture, sale and use of firecrackers generating noise levels exceeding 125 dB (AI) or 145 dB (C) pk at 4-meter distance from the point of bursting have been prohibited.

Also read: Congress asks Nagaland Assembly to withdraw resolution on Naga talks

The manufacture, sale and use of joined firecrackers (series crackers or laris) have been banned as they cause huge air noise and solid waste problems. Fireworks containing barium salts have also been banned.

Dimapur fireworks

On festival days like Diwali, Gurupurab, etc, fireworks will be allowed till 10 pm only. On Christmas eve and New Year eve, fireworks will be permitted from 11.55 pm till 12.30 am, the order said.

Also read: WHO grants emergency use listing to Covaxin

The DC has advised the public to refrain from and minimize the usage of firecrackers even though as per the Supreme Court directive there is no total ban on use of the same.

The order said the defaulters will be penalized.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at: