Image: DIPR, Mizoram

The three-day International Paragliding Accuracy Championship successfully concluded in Mizoram’s Serchhip on Saturday.

State chief minister Zoramthanga graced the closing ceremony as the chief guest.

Zoramthanga expressed his gratitude that the sporting event, the first of its kind to be hosted by Mizoram was concluded successfully.

He hoped more events of similar kind will take place in the future with even greater participants, especially from the youths in the State.

Also read: International paragliding championship begins in Mizoram

He thanked the Mizoram Aero-Sports Association and the organizing department as well as the cooperation received from the people of Serchhip making the championship a success.

Tourism minister Robert Romawia Royte, who was the guest of honour at the closing ceremony expressed hope that more paragliding competitions of much grander scale will continue to be held at Serchhip in the future.

During the three day event, which saw 23 participants, South Korea won the first prize in both men and women categories and also stood first in the team competition.

Twenty-three participants from India, Afghanistan, Kazakhstan and South Korea competed in rounds of eight.

Image: DIPR, Mizoram

Jin Hee Baek and Jae Ryun Ha, both from South Korea won first prize and second prize in women category respectively, while India’s Rupa Devi Karki bagged third.

In the men’s category, Byung Chang Jeun from South Korea bagged first followed by Igor Virshki from Kazakhstan and Vishal Kumar from India finishing second and third respectively.

The first prize carried a cash award of 2000 euros, while second prize carried 1500 euros and third prize 1300 euros in both the categories.

In the team competition, team Korea bagged the first place, followed by Bir Billing and 3K. There was no cash award for team competition.

The closing ceremony was attended by Serchhip Assembly constituency MLA Laduhoma, Tuirial Assembly constituency MLA Andrew H Thangliana, Tourism Development Board vice chairman T C Pachhunga and adviser to the chief minister C Lalramzauva among others.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: