Lalduhoma of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) has won the bye-elections to the Serchhip Assembly Constituency. 

Lalduhoma won the bye-elections elections to Serchhip Assembly constituency by securing 8269 votes. 

Lalduhoma defeated his closest rival – Vanlalzawma of the Mizo National Front (MNF) by nearly 3000 votes. 

MNF’s Vanlalzawma secured 5314 votes. 

Meanwhile, Congress candidate PC Laltlansanga emerged third best in the bye-elections. 

Also read: Tripura: TTAADC executive committee constitutes Village Development Committees in 587 ADC villages

Congress candidate PC Laltlansanga managed to secure only 2669 votes. 

Over 83 per cent turnout was recorded in the bye-elections to the Serchhip Assembly seat in Mizoram. 

Bye-elections to the Serchhip Assembly Constituency was necessitated following disqualification of Lalduhoma for “losing the character of an independent legislator”. 

The 71-year-old was disqualified as an MLA on the grounds that he had declared himself as a representative of the political party Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM).  

He was elected as an Independent from the Serchhip constituency in the 2018 elections. 

“He was elected as an Independent MLA but he lost that character because of the declaration,” the Mizoram Assembly Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo said while disqualifying Lalduhoma. 

Also read: Assam Assembly Election Results 2021 Live Updates : BJP heading for second term in Assam, setback for Congress 

The IPS officer-turned-politician had met a similar fate 32 years ago when he was serving as an MP. 

He is, perhaps, the only politician in the country to have suffered disqualification both as an MP and an MLA. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: