PV Sanjay Kumar on Sunday took charge as the new chief justice of the Manipur High Court.

Manipur governor Najma Heptulla administered Kumar the oath-of-office during a swearing-in ceremony held at the Durbar Hall in the Raj Bhawan in Imphal.

Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh was also present on the occasion.

Kumar was a former judge of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana.

The Supreme Court Collegium recommended the appointment of Kumar as the chief justice of the Manipur High Court in January this year.

“Attended swearing-in-ceremony of Justice Shri PV Sanjay Kumar, Judge of the High Court of Punjab & Haryana as the Chief Justice of the High Court of Manipur at the Durbar Hall, Raj Bhavan,” N Biren Singh tweeted.

Also read: 143 NGOs pledge to their active support to Manipur’s war on drugs

Kumar served the Andhra Pradesh High Court as a judge from 2008-2010, though he was made a permanent judge of the court in 2010.

He also served as a judge of the newly instituted Telangana High Court and joined the High Court of Punjab and Haryana in October 2019.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in