The Kohima Bench of the Gauhati High Court has rejected two interlocutory applications filed by the Naga People’s Front (NPF) that sought to keep seven of its suspended MLAs off the 60-member Nagaland Assembly.

The applications were rejected pending a final verdict on a plea by the seven MLAs challenging the maintainability of a writ petition relating to their disqualification.

The suspended MLAs include E.E. Pangteang, Eshak Konyak, Kejong Chang, B.S. Nganlang Phom, Toyang Chang, N. Thongwang Konyak and C.L. John.

The court ruled that there was no merit in passing a judgement to restrain the seven MLAs from attending the Assembly session as the petition relating to their disqualification was in the pendency stage, The Hindu reported.

The NPF had suspended the seven legislators from the party’s membership in April 2019 for defying its decision to support Congress candidate K.L. Chishi in the Lok Sabha polls that year.

They backed the candidate fielded by the ruling of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the BJP allience.

Nagaland Assembly Speaker Sharingain Longkumer dismissed the NPF’s disqualification petition in July 2020.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: