The Manipur government, in compliance with the directive of the High Court of Manipur, has set up two special courts to exclusively conduct trials of criminal cases against former MPs and MLAs.

The Law and Legislative Affairs Department Manipur, in a compliance report to the HC, said on Saturday that the first court- Special Court (MPs/MLAs), No. 1 Manipur, will function at the session court level and will be presided by additional district and session judge (FTC), Manipur West.

The second court- Special Court (MPs/MLAs), No. 2 Manipur, will function at the magistrate level with Chief Judicial Magistrate, Imphal West, as the presiding officer.

These two exclusive special courts will function from Imphal and they will have jurisdiction over entire Manipur.

The department further informed that the state government has also appointed additional public prosecutor (district), Manipur, assistant public prosecutor (FTC), Manipur West and the court of chief judicial magistrate, Imphal East as Special Public Prosecutor to conduct prosecution in the cases involving former and sitting MPs and MLAs before the two Special Courts (MPs/MLAs).

It may be further informed that the prosecutor will not be given extra remuneration and treated as an additional assignment to their normal duties.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: