Manipur Congress leaders on Wednesday called on President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan on the constitutional role of the Governor in matters related to disqualification of 12 MLAs as parliamentary secretaries in Manipur.

The Congress delegation was led by the All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge of Manipur, Bhakta Charan Das, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Govindas Konthoujam and AICC CWC regular member Gaikhangam.

All the Congress MLAs signed the memorandum which was submitted to President Kovind.

In the memorandum, the Congress leaders requested the President to ensure that the “Governor of Manipur performs or discharges constitutional duties and obligations as envisaged under Article 192 of the Constitution of India”.

Manipur’s Congress MLAs Gaikhangam, K. Govindas, DD Thaisi along with former Member of Parliament, Bhakta Charan Das were present in the meeting with the President.

Manipur Congress

After meeting the President, the Congress leaders addressed the media in New Delhi.

Also read: Manipur Congress seeks audience with President over disqualification of MLAs

The memorandum alleged that there were many incidents in the past where the “Governor of Manipur had failed to discharge her constitutional duties and obligations by completely ignoring the law” laid down by the Supreme Court of India as well as established democratic and parliamentary practices.

Also read: Manipur Congress meets governor, seeks disqualification of 12 parliamentary secretaries appointed by BJP govt

The memorandum said the Congress party, which emerged as the single largest party with 28 elected members in the last general election held in March, 2017, was not allowed to form the government.

“In a House of 60 members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, BJP which had a strength of 21 members, was allowed to form government with the help of smaller parties, none of which had any pre-poll alliance before the election,” the memorandum said.

The Congress has sought disqualification of 12 BJP MLAs on account of holding the position of parliamentary secretaries.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: