Will Congress candidate Pradyut Bordoloi be able to revive the party's fortunes in Nowgong parliamentary constituency?

Nowgong parliamentary constituency, which has been a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stronghold since 1999, again fell into BJP’s lap in the last general elections held in 2014.  It is one among the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam.

Rajen Gohain from the saffron party is the Sitting MP from Nowgong parliamentary constituency and is presently a Minister of State for Railways. He has served four terms as MP having represented Nowgong since 1999.

There has been no looking back for Gohain since 1999 – having been re-elected in 2004, 2009 and 2014. The Congress has fielded Pradyut Bordoloi for the said constituency for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.

In the last elections held in 2014, Gohain did the magic again – he defeated his nearest rival Jonjonali Baruah of Congress by a margin of 143,559 votes.

The Congress party was ruling the roost in the said constituency from the year 1951 to 1977. It could not recreate the magic in 1985 when Muhiram Saikia won – riding high on the AGP wave.

In the 2014 elections, Aditya Langthasa of AIUDF got 3, 14,012 votes and occupied the third slot while Mridula Barkakoty of the AGP had to settle for only 35,142 votes.

The constituency will go to the polls on April 18 next. Nine assembly segments make up the Lok Sabha seat of Nowgong, out of which the segments of Raha and Jagiroad are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste (SC) community.

The name of Assembly constituencies in Nowgong is – Jagiroad (SC), Raha (SC), Jamunamukh, Morigaon, Nagaon, Hojai, Laharighat, Barhampur and Lumding. In Nagaon constituency, there are a total of 17, 74,465 voters out of which 9, 11,198 are males and 8, 63,217 are female voters.

Nowgong constituency: At a glance

No of voters: 17, 74,465

No of female voters: 8, 63,217

No of male voters: 9, 11,198

Parinita Datta

Parinita Datta is Chief Copy Editor of Northeast Now. She can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.