The members of the new Assam Cabinet including chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and 13 ministers took oath on Tuesday in four different languages.

They took oath in Assamese, Bodo, Bengali and English languages.

Along with Himanta Biswa Sarma, who took oath as the 15th chief minister of Assam, 13 ministers from Bharataiya Janata Party (BJP) its alliance partners Asom Gana Party (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) were sworn in during a swearing-in function at Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati.

They were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi.

The swearing-in ceremony started at 12.05 pm on Tuesday as soon as the Governor arrived at the Kalakshetra.

Himanta Biswa Sarma, clad in dhoti, Panjabi and cheleng chador, took oath in the Assamese language at 12:05 pm.

After Himanta Biswa Sarma, it was Assam BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass who took oath as minister in the Assamese language.

The other ministers who took in the Assamese language include Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) president Atul Bora, Chandramohan Patowari, Keshab Mahanta, Dr Ranoj Pegu, Sanjay Kishan, Ajanta Neog, Pijush Hazarika, Jogen Mahan and Bimal Bora.

Also read: Covid19 top priority for new Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma; urges ULFA(I) C-in-C Paresh Barua to join talk table

United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) founder and former parliamentarian UG Brahma, who was elected as an MLA from Chapaguri Assembly constituency under the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), took oath as minister in Bodo language.

Bodo is an official language in the Bodoland Territorial Region.

Parimal Suklabaidya, who served as the forest minister under Sarbananda Sonowal ministry, took oath as minister in the Bengali language.

Parimal Suklabaidya was re-elected from the Dholai Assembly constituency in the Barak Valley.

Bengali language is an official language in Barak Valley.

Two-time Dhekiajuli MLA Ashok Singhal took oath in the English language.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: