Assam filmmaker Anupam Kaushik Borah’s ‘Bornodi Bhotiai’ has been selected as the best film for the fourth edition of the Sailadhar Baruah Film Awards (NE) 2019.

This was announced by the office-bearers of the Sailadhar Baruah Memorial Trust in Guwahati on Thursday.

The movie is also produced by Borah.

They also said said that the jury has chosen young director Monjul Baruah for the best director award for his recently released film ‘Kaneen’.

Rajni Basumatary gets the best screen writer award for the Bodo film ‘Jwlwi-The Seed’.

Quan Bay has been chosen for the best music director award for the movie ‘Aamis’.

While Gautam Nair has been chosen for the best sound designer award and Lima Das has been chosen for the best actor (female) award for the same movie.

Arjun Ningthemcha has been chosen for the best cinematographer award and Sanad Aribam has been chosen for the best art director award for the Manipuri movie ‘Laman Ama’.

Hemanti Sarkar has bagged the best film editor award for the movie ‘Jwlwi-The Seed’.

The jury has selected Arun Hazarika for the best actor (male) award for the movie ‘Gobardhan Sorit’.

The jury’s special mention award went to Papori Saikia for her work in the movie ‘Pokhilar Pakhi’ and three child artistes – Maharnav Mahanta, Rishiraj Baruah and Gia Baruah for the movie ‘Xhoixobote Dhemalite’.

The awards will be given away at a ceremony to be held on January 10 next.

The award ceremony will commemorate the death anniversary of renowned film producer Sailadhar Baruah.

This time altogether 15 movies in Assamese, Bodo, Arunachali and Manipuri languages had competed for the awards.

The jury comprised filmmaker Gautam Bora, music director Jatin Sarmah, Manipuri filmmaker Haobam Paban Kumar, senior journalist Munin Bayan and actress Zerifa Wahid.

The awards ceremony will be attended by Shaji N Karun, Dulal Roy, Ramen Barua and Vidya Rao among others, informed the organizers.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: