The second phase of polling of the Bodo Territorial Council (BTC) elections is underway. 

Voting for this crucial phase of polls began at 7:30am in two Bodo Territorial Region (BTR) districts of Kokrajhar and Chirang. 

The voting process will culminate at 4:30pm.  

A total of 111 candidates are in the fray in the second phase of polling. 

Over 10 lakh voters will exercise their franchise throughout the day on Thursday. 

Voting is underway in as many as 1,407 polling stations across the two BTR districts of  Kokrajhar and Chirang. 

In total 77 candidates are in fray from 19 Bodo Territorial Council (BTC) constituencies in Kokrajhar. 

On the other hand, 34 candidates are in the contest from Chirang. 

Also read: BTC poll violence: UPPL president Promod Boro’s convoy, party candidate attacked in Kokrajhar

Fate of top Bodo leaders including Bodo People’s Front (BPF) Chief Hagrama Mohilary and former Deputy Chief Khampa Borgoyary will be decided in the second phase of elections. 

All the ‘sensitive’ and ‘very sensitive’ polling stations are under video surveillance. 

“We are confident and hopeful that the second phase of elections will also pass off peacefully just like the Phase 1 of polling,” said an election official. 

Notably, the first phase of polling in the Bodo Territorial Council elections witnessed heavy turnout of voters of 78%. 

Meanwhile, counting of votes will take place on December 12.  


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: