Presidents of the two new regional parties in Assam – the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Raijor Dal – Lurin Jyoti Gogoi and Akhil Gogoi filed their nominations for the Assam Assembly elections on Monday.

AJP president Lurin Jyoti Gogoi filed his nomination from the two seats that he is contesting from – Duliajan and Naharkatia.

Lurin Jyoti Gogoi submitted his nomination papers for the two constituencies before the Returning Officer at Dibrugarh in Assam.

It was a show of strength of the AJP as the party’s president Lurin Jyoti Gogoi went for nomination filing.

A sea of people turned up into the streets as they accompanied Lurin Jyoti Gogoi to the office of the returning officer for nomination filing.

After filing his nomination papers Lurin Jyoti Gogoi while speaking to the media exuded confidence of winning both the seats that he is contesting from.

Lurin Jyoti Gogoi said: “People of Assam this time will vote for regionalism. The BJP-led Government in Assam will be dislodged.”

Also read: Assam Congress president Ripun Bora files nomination from Gohpur constituency

On the other hand, Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi also filed his nomination from the constituencies of Sibsagar and Mariani.

Akhil Gogoi submitted his nomination papers to the Returning Officer for the upcoming Assembly elections in Assam via video conferencing.

An election team collected the nomination papers of Akhil Gogoi from the Gauhati Medical College Hospital (GMCH).

Also read: No interference from high command in candidates’ selection unlike BJP: Assam Congress in-charge Jitendra Singh


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: