The Dhubri district election officer on Monday released the final electoral roll adding over 15,923 new names.

This was an increase of 2.7% voters, compared to the number of voters in the draft elector roll published in November 2020.

According to the revised final list, there are 3,11,324 male voters while the number of women eligible to vote is 2 91,084.

There are a total of 8,081 electors under the age group of 80+ while there are 16,255 voters in the age group of 18-19 as per final publication of the electoral roll under the Dhubri election district.

The Dhubri election district comprises three Assembly constituencies – Dhubri, Gauripur and Golakganj LACs.

Assam is expected to go to Assembly polls in April-May.

There are 876 booths (including 144 Auxiliary booths) in the Dhubri election district.

The deputy commissioner-cum-district election officer of Dhubri, Anant Lal Gyani on Monday released the final voter list having 95,300 voters in Dhubri LAC, 2,04,778 in Gauripur LAC and 2,02,338 voters in Golakganj LAC.

The number of voters is up from 5,86,493 (as per draft roll published on 18/01/2020) marking an increase of 2.7%.

More than 15,923 new names have been added to the final roll.

According to the list, there are a total of 6,919 voters tagged with ‘D’ mark (doubtful voters) in all three LACs.

The constituency-wise numbers of ‘D’ voters are Dhubri – 2,155, Gauripur – 2,344 and Golakganj – 2,460.

The total number of service voters till date in all three LACs is 902.

Dhubri district has a total of five Assembly seats namely 23 No-Dhubri,24 No-Gauripur,25 No- Golakganj,26 No- Bilasipara West and 27 No – Bilasipara East.

Mukesh Kr Singh

Mukesh Kr Singh is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dhubri. He can be reached at: