DHSK College

Dibrugarh H.S. Kanoi College conducted its students’ union election for 2021-22 through a web-based application on LMS software, probably for the first time in the country.

A total of 38 students contested in 14 posts.

A total of 2,606 students cast their votes out of a total of 3,468 student voters.

For the first time in the history of Kanoi College, the highest percentage of votes cast in this year’s election, which is 75.14%.

The college has been conducting the students elections in digital platform since 2018, which has now reached to an another level this year.

In this year’s election, voters were able to cast their votes through their registered mobile number through OTP verification.

The system has already been tested and verified a number of times with the candidates and interested students.

The interest of the students with this new system can be judged from the fact that during the very first hour of voting total 1,376 students cast their votes, which was a record based on previous year’s elections.

The principal of the college, Dr. Sashi Kanta Saikia thanked all the advisors of students Union and also thanked the students for peaceful conduct of the election.

The principal offered his special thanks to academic coordinator Dr. Ananta Kr. Dutta, vice principal Dr. Priya Dev Goswami, coordinator, IQAC, Dr. Mridul Sarma, coordinator – students relations Dr. Jyoti Prasad Phukan, coordinator- Innovation Aditya Dahal,

He also thanked academic coordinators Dr. Ranjan Changmai, Dr. Alakananda Boruah and Dr. Moromi Talukdar for supervising the technical aspects of the system and thanked system developer Kakul Bezbaruah for his efforts.

In the 2021-22 students’ union election, Syed Rohit Rahman (1838) was elected as the president, Biman Sonowal (905) as vice-president, Kabya jyoti Sonowal(1585) as general secretary, Partha Pratim Gohain(1612) as Assistant General Secretary, Ayush Sahani(1399) as secretary of Social Work, Minor Games Secretary Debabrot Gogoi (1088), Lakshyajit Das(1132) as Music Secretary, Priyangana Mili (748) as Cultural Secretary, Madhujyya Chetia(1170) as Debating Secretary, Dwimon Mudoi(1487) as Gymnasium Secretary and Subraj Das Sonowal(670) elected as Student’s Common Room Secretary along with class representatives and a number of uncontested winners .

The whole voting system started with a mock poll in the morning and supervised by 30 Professors of the college.

A group of losing candidates set rare examples by congratulating the winners with a gamosa.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: babs8oct@gmail.com