The BJP emerged as the single-largest party by winning 33 seats out of 36 in the Tiwa Autonomous Council polls, results of which were announced on Saturday.

Of the 3 other seats, 2 seats were won by Congress and one seat went to Asom Gana Parishad (AGP).

The election for the satellite council was held in four districts of Assam including Morigaon, Kamrup Metro, Nagaon and Hojai districts.

Out of the 19 seats in Morigaon, the BJP won 17 seats and the 2 other seats were won by the AGP.

The opposition Congress failed to win any seat in Morigaon district.

In Nagaon district, the BJP was able to win all the seats.

The saffron party was also able to come victorious in Kamrup Metro district by winning all the 6 seats.

In Hojai district, the lone Tiwa Autonomous Council seat, Kaki, was won by Congress.

Congress candidate Bijumoni Bordoloi won from the 27 No. Kaki TAC (Open) Constituency under Hojai district by a margin of 167 votes, the district administration said in a statement on Saturday evening.

According to the statement, the Congress candidate got 3,729 votes while BJP candidate Subash Basumatry got 3,562 votes

The chief executive member (CEM) of Tiwa Autonomous Council, Pawan Manta has won the Damal seat.

The AGP candidates were able to win the Borsola and Garmari seats in Morigaon by defeating the BJP candidates.

In all the four districts in Assam, the polling started at 8 am and ended at 5:30 pm in a peaceful manner.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: