There has been 34 per cent voters’ turnout in the Tiwa Autonomous Council polls that are currently underway in 19 constituencies in Assam’s Morigaon district.

The 34 per cent turnout was till 11:30 am on Thursday.

The polling began at 7:30 am in 187 polling stations and will continue till 4:30 pm.

The Morigaon district administration has termed 119 of these 187 polling stations to be sensitive.

A total of 3,08,409 voters will cast their votes in the council polls.

Also read: Assam: Voting underway for Tiwa Autonomous Council

The Assam State Election Commission is conducting the polls in 35 of the 36 council constituencies spread across Nagaon Morigaon, Hojai and Kamrup (Metro) districts amid tight security and by adhering to all Covid-19 protocols.

The Gobha council constituency has, however, gone uncontested.

A total of 124 candidates are contesting in the elections to the autonomous council.

While the ruling BJP has fielded its candidates in 35 constituencies, the Congress has fielded candidates in all 36 constituencies and the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) in just one.

The counting will take place on December 19.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: