The Assam election commission on Saturday ordered re-polling in four polling stations in the Ratabari, Sonai and Haflong legislative assembly constituencies on April 20.

The polling stations are Indira MV School in Ratabari constituency, Madhya Dhanehari LP School in Sonai constituency and Khotlir LP School and Mualdam LP School in Haflong constituency.

These constituencies had gone to the polls in the second phase of the Assam Assembly elections on April 1.

Re-polling will be held in these polling centres from 7 am to 6 pm on April 20.

The state election commission has ordered re-polling in these four polling stations after taking into account the circumstances and reports submitted in this regard.

Also read: CPI(M) approaches election commission with complaint against Tripura chief minister

There were reports of EVM Tampering at the No 149 Indira MV School in Ratabari constituency in the Karimganj district during the ASsam Assembly elections after the machine was recovered from a Bolero in which the polling officer and other poll officials were travelling.

The vehicle was registered in the name of the wife of BJP Patharkandi MLA Krishnendu Paul.

The presiding officer under whose supervision the polling took place at Indira MV School has been suspended along with other poll officials for dereliction of duty.

The CID is investigating the matter.

Meanwhile, in Madhya Dhanehari LP School in Sonai constituency in Cachar district three people were injured after five Assam Police personnel opened fire on the public during the second phase of the Assam Assembly elections.

These police personnel were associated with Assam Legislative Assembly’s deputy speaker Aminul Haque Laskar, who is the BJP candidate from the Sonai constituency.

A magisterial inquiry was ordered into the incident and the five police personnel were suspended.

On the other hand, 181 voters cast their votes in the Assam Assembly elections in the polling station ar Khotlir LP School in Haflong in Dima Hasao district, when there were only 90 voters in the electoral roll of the polling station.

This polling station has been set up for the first time, while the main polling station is Mualdam LP School, where 616 electors could exercise their franchise as per the electoral roll.

The presiding officer and other polling officials on duty in this polling stating have been suspended.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: