Ahead of the Assam Assembly elections 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is all set to campaign for Punakon Baruah, the Chabua candidate of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), an ally of the BJP, on March 20.

AGP leader Punakon Baruah on Tuesday filed nomination papers for Chabua constituency after the BJP left the seat for their alliance partner, AGP.

The grassroots workers of the BJP and the supporters of Binod Hazarika, who is the sitting BJP MLA, have expressed resentment over the party’s decision.

The BJP workers demanded that Binod Hazarika should contest from Chabua. However, Binod Hazarika has been given BJP ticket for the Lahowal seat.

BJP has denied party ticket to Lahowal MLA Rituparna Baruah.

Punakon Baruah is the brother of Rituparna Baruah.

He is the Dibrugarh district president of AGP.

BJP has a strong base in Chabua which witnessed massive protests during the anti-CAA movement.

“AGP has no base in Chabua as the party is weak. PM Modi is coming to Chabua to campaign for AGP candidate Punakon Baruah. This time things are not clear how far Punokan Baruah will be able to take advantage as an AGP candidate from Chabua,” said a political analyst.

“Dissidence factor is there in Chabua, owing to denial of ticket to Binod Hazarika. Binod Hazarika is regarded as a mass leader in Chabua because he safeguarded the members of BJP during anti-CAA protest,” said a local leader.

“Chabua is one of the most affected constituencies during the anti-CAA protest,” he said.

Among the other candidates, who filed nomination for the Chabua seat are Ajay Phukan (INC), Bhaben Baruah (Raijor Dal), Ananta Hazarika (LJP), Priyanka Neog (Independent) and Prakash Tanti (Independent).

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: babs8oct@gmail.com