Shiladitya Dev has been denied ticket by the BJP to contest in the upcoming Assam Assembly elections.

Shiladitya Dev is the sitting MLA from Hojai constituency.

However, the BJP has decided to side-line him and the give the party ticket from Hojai to Ramakrishna Ghosh.

BJP list 3

Following denial of ticket to him by the BJP, the Hojai MLA took to social media to express his disappointment.

Shiladitya Dev in his Facebook page said: “Finally I have been kicked out from BJP.”

Also read: Grand Alliance will win at least 40 out of 47 seats in first phase of elections: Assam Congress chief Ripun Bora

However, later speaking to media, Shiladitya Dev clarified that he is yet to formally quit the party.

Shiladitya Dev

“I will quit the party soon,” said Shiladitya Dev.

He also said that the BJP had been planning from a long time to deny him ticket to contest in the upcoming Assam Assembly elections.

The BJP on Wednesday announced another list of candidates comprising names of its candidates for three constituencies.

HailakandiMilan Das
SipajharParmananda Rajbongshi
HojaiRamakrishna Ghosh


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: