The Duliajan constituency in Dibrugarh district is set to witness a triangular fight between student leader turned politician Lurinjyoti Gogoi, sitting BJP MLA Terosh Gowala and Congress candidate Dhruba Jyoti Gogoi in the ensuing Assam Assembly elections.

Lurinjyoti Gogoi, president of the Assam Jatiya Parishad(AJP) will be contesting from Duliajan and Naharkatia seats.

On the other hand, Terosh Gowala is an incumbent MLA of Duliajan and has a stronghold in the area because of the tea tribe community.

Dhruba Jyoti Gogoi is Congress youth leader who had been defeated by Gowala by a margin of 17,086 votes in the 2016 Assam Assembly elections.

Both BJP and Congress have different agendas for the ensuing assembly polls.

While Congress has given five guarantees to the people of the state in its manifesto, BJP has refrained from including many important issues concerning the state like CAA in its manifesto released on Tuesday.

Also read: Assam Assembly election: BJP releases manifesto; avoids CAA, Clause 6, ST status for 6 communities in 10 commitments

“During the anti-CAA movement Lurinjyoti Gogoi got massive support in Duliajan for opposing the controversial act. Now, he is representing a political party and contesting as a candidate from Duliajan seat. The other two candidates are equally strong and it will be a interesting battle in Duliajan between them,” said a local resident.

The Congress has won the Duliajan seat four times, while the BJP had been victorious here for three times.

“The fight will be between regionalism and extreme nationalism. BJP has been advocating extreme nationalism and the newly floated party AJP has been stressing regionalism. The CAA is not the sole factor anymore as there are many issues plaguing Assam at present,” a political expert said.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: