The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), an ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has released its first list of candidates for the Assam Assembly elections 2021.

The first list of the AGP comprises 8 candidates.

Among the notable names of the AGP, party president and agriculture minister Atul Bora will contest from Bokakhat constituency.

Assam water resources minister and AGP working president Keshav Mahanta will contest from Kaliabor constituency.

AGP has dumped veteran AGP leader and sitting MLA Brindaban Goswami and has named Prithiraj Rabha, son of Assam’s cultural icon Bishnu Rabha, as its candidate from the prestigious Tezpur constituency.

Brindaban Goswami is a 5-time MLA from Tezpur constituency and served as education minister during Prafulla Kumar Mahanta regime.

Goswami has expressed strong resentment after being denied a party ticket.

Also read: Assam Assembly elections: Only 5.71% women in BJP candidates list depict saffron party’s patriarchal mindset

BokakhatAtul Bora
KaliaborKeshav Mahanta
TeokRenupama Rajkhowa
DergaonBhabendra Nath Bharali
AmguriPradip Hazarika
ChabuaPoonakon Baruah
NaoboichaJayanta Khaund
TezpurPrithiraj Rabha

Also read: Assam Congress likely to announce Gaurav Gogoi as candidate from Titabor constituency

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: