Over 9 lakh voters in Dhubri district will decide the fate of 41 candidates across 5 Assembly segments as the district goes to the polls in the third and final phase Assam Assembly election on Tuesday.

The Assam Assembly election will be held amid tight security with the Election Commission deploying appropriate numbers of central forces that would guard polling booths housed in 1,422 premises, officials said.

Besides, Assam Police personnel will also be deployed at strategic locations, officials said.

Every measure has been taken so that polling takes place by maintaining strict Covid19 protocols in all five Assembly constituencies.

Dhubri election district has 5 Assembly constituencies including Dhubri, Gauripur, Golakganj, Bilasipara East and Bilasipara West.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded candidates in all five Assembly seats.

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), a partners of the Congress-led Grand Alliance, has fielded party candidates in four Assembly constituencies including Dhubri, Gauripur, Bilasipara East and Bilasipara West.

Congress party has fielded party candidate for the Golakganj Legislative Assembly constituency.

The election will be conducted on April 6 from 7 am to 6 pm.

The counting of votes for the three-phased Assam Assembly election will take place on May 2, 2021.

Mukesh Kr Singh

Mukesh Kr Singh is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dhubri. He can be reached at: mkdhubri@gmail.com